Bass Whistles

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
hans
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

Bass Whistles

Post by hans »

For those who like low whistles: I just finished my first bass G whistle (G below low D). I got some 28mm bore alu tubing suitable for Bb, A, G# and G whistles and made the first bass G whistle with a straight head. But this proofed quite hard to play because of the arm stretch required. So I found a 45° aluminium bend from an automotive supplier, and incorporated it into the tuning barrel design. You can see the result in the pics below. The difference in comfort was drastic! then I made bodies for low A and Bb, and was really surprised how much better I could play these. The stretch for the Bb with the bend tuning barrel design is as much as the stretch on the low C with a straight barrel. The bore is 2mm wider than the low C, and it suits these low keys from Bb to G. The G could be called narrow-bore, but it works. I can make single or combo-sets, if anyone is interested, and has large hands (large hands are still required!). The funny thing is: once you have played these large whistles, picking up a low D feels so small suddenly! But it will take time to get really good with them, to get used to the finger distances, just as it did when starting with a low D. - I am also interested to hear from anyone with experience in Bass G whistles.

Bass G whistle http://music.bracker.co/Whistles/Bass_G_Whistles

Head with bend tuning barrel (45° bend)

Side by side, for comparison: Bass G, low C and low D whistles (OD 30mm, 28mm, 25mm respectively)
Last edited by hans on Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:24 am, edited 3 times in total.
susa

Re: CP: Bracker Bass Whistles

Post by susa »

Fantastic impressive nice giant.
hans