Davy Spillane Low Whistle Techniques

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Mikethebook
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Davy Spillane Low Whistle Techniques

Post by Mikethebook »

Not everyone is a huge fan of Davy Spillane's low whistle playing like me. I know many ITM purists frown on or disregard his music and that's perhaps understandable and fair enough. But nobody can dispute the influence he's had in promoting the popularity of the low whistle or his innovative style (which I've heard Donal Lunny suggest comes from his love of blues music). And because of that, I'm amazed that there are no resources, at least that I can find, that address the "ornaments" (maybe some not strictly ITM) and "techniques" that he uses, especially in his slower music. As a relative beginner still training my ears to hear what's going on, I would love for those who know and understand, to talk about some of the things Davy does because I, for one, am keen to learn any such stuff for my own playing. Any takers or thoughts?
pancelticpiper
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Re: Davy Spillane Low Whistle Techniques

Post by pancelticpiper »

I'd need to know what specific "lick" you're talking about in each case. You could post a YouTube video and ask "what is that that Davy does at 3:14?" and so forth.