Goldie / Overton clogging problem (and solution)

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Goldie / Overton clogging problem (and solution)

Post by AngelicBeaver »

I'm considering trying it. I love my new whistles, but they do clog. No whistle is allowed to be perfect, I guess. I'm a little worried about putting something in the windway. If waxy buildup messes up my whistle, I'm not sure how to get it out again.

Any thoughts?
Last edited by AngelicBeaver on Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nathaniel James Dowell
Mikethebook
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Re: Anyone use Dental Floss on a Goldie?

Post by Mikethebook »

As a beginner, I bought a soft blowing Goldie about a year ago (a low D) and for months had problems with clogging. I tried everything including waxing it but that didn't help. Then I spoke to Colin and for months now, it has never clogged on me. It's fine. This is what he suggested I do: