Light fingers...an epiphany??

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Light fingers...an epiphany??

Post by AngelicBeaver »

I was playing a couple of weeks ago and I suddenly realized that trying to come down and cut on a C# was not working well partly because the whistle jumps a little and follows my finger up (slightly) as I try to make the cut (with my top finger). A few days ago, I realized that I was putting too much pressure on the holes, causing the whistle to wiggle and jump as fingers come and go.

I then realized that ornamentation speed HAS to suffer because of this. Popping a finger off and on again takes a fraction of a second, and the finger barely moves. If it's mashed down, you can easily double the distance you have to move your finger, thus doubling the time it takes to sound the ornament.

Practicing light fingers, and I can already tell a difference, although it's messed up my timing on the cut that started all the self-reflection (which means I'm cutting faster).

I just thought I'd share this, as it isn't something that one can get from watching other people play. I didn't have a death grip or anything. Just more pressure than was needed. Maybe I was trying to cover the holes more extra gooder.
Nathaniel James Dowell
bogman
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Re: Light fingers...an epiphany??

Post by bogman »