Garry Somers flutes

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
bonefamily
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Garry Somers flutes

Post by bonefamily »

Hello everyone! I am a beginning flute player and am currently playing on a Tipple 2 piece in D. While I love this flute, I would like to add another to have a different contrast in tone and just something to go back and forth with. I am looking at the Garry Somers aluminum flute as it falls nicely into my budget. To those that have played/own this flute, I would like to know how the hole spacing compares to the Tipple and if the Somers is a heavier or lighter flute than the Tipple. Also, seeing how I am still relatively new to flute playing, how does the embouchure hole compare to the Tipple in terms of playability? Of course being a new player, I don't want to have two flutes that feel and play completely different - save that for when I am more experienced :) Thanks for the help!
Denny

Re: Garry Somers flutes

Post by Denny »

Play the Tipple for a couple of years...

If yer still playing, start to think about a new flute.
Picture a bright blue ball just spinning, spinning free
It's dizzying, the possibilities. Ashes, Ashes all fall down.
O'Mulriain

Post by O'Mulriain »