fife questions

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
onewheeldave
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

fife questions

Post by onewheeldave »

I've been playing low D flutes for many years, not necessarily Irish style, mainly a random variety of a mix of established tunes and ones I've made up myself.

Currently I've got a Copley delrin which I'm very happy with, plus a couple of lesser low D's.

I've recently been considering a fife, partly cos they're a tad more portable, partly cos I just like the look of them.

On the low D I prefer the lower notes and, cos i play at home a lot, it's more considerate for the neighbours not be be going too high, though, as time goes by, I'm getting gradually better at playing the high 2nd octave notes quietly and with control.

Fifes, from what I've read, seem to be designed to play mainly in the 2nd/3rd octave? Or is it more that they just happen to be played up there purely to be heard over the drums, and, if so, do they produce decent tone in the 1st octave?

I know that there are also more modern fife type objects built to be played in the lower octave, but, the kind of fife I really like the look of is the classic 1pc, gently bulging towards the middle with a metal ferrule on each end i.e. the civil war variety- can they be played with good tone and, in tune, in their lower octave.

Essentially, I'm wanting to be able to transfer much of my currenbt flute repetoire over the fife, i've already been working on a couple of easy fife tunes like 'Yankee Doodle/the girl I left behind'.

Also, i was wondering if anyone had had dealings with this company-

http://www.angusfifes.com/

http://shop.fifeanddrumshop.com/epages/ ... icanWalnut

(specific fife)

and if they were a good souce of instruments?