Uilleann Pipes wood, mounts, and tone

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
WyattPauls
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Uilleann Pipes wood, mounts, and tone

Post by WyattPauls »

Hello everyone,

I'm from Oregon, and wanting to learn to play the Uilleann pipes. I play Irish music.
Now, an instrument is a partner for life, and I am wondering if myrtlewood is a good option for a pipes set.

In fact, what defines a wood as either usable or non-useable for a set of uilleann pipes? Could
myrtlewood even be used? I have been researching tons, and would either want to get a set in cocobolo/antler or ebony/some-other-mount, so far as i can tell. But I am a native of Oregon, proud of my heritage (Irish also), and IF myrtlewood is a possibility I would definantly LOVE to get the pipes done in myrtle. It's so cool! It's a great tonewood and i've played a few guitars in mrytle, and also worked with it.

Anyways, i'm new to this and i'm just asking questions out there.

Is anyone else here from Oregon?

I've narrowed it down to about six specific makers that i could like to choose from:
Marc Van Daal (I like his style)
Evertjan t' hart (I like how he plays the pipes and his pipes look well-made, but there's not a lot of info)
Martin Preshaw (I like the fact he has great sound samples on his webpage)
Bill Haneman (he makes beautiful pipes, and i really appreciate care he's put into them)
Alan Burton and Geoff Wyatt (just seem like good solid makers of uilleann pipes)
Tim Benson and Stephanie Cornielius (They like in the USA, unlike the other makers)
Chris Bayley
And Koehler and Quinn

Any recomendations or comments or anything really.

Cheers'
Wyatt
Chris Bayley

Re: Uilleann Pipes wood, mounts, and tone

Post by Chris Bayley »

Hi Wyatt

See I am on the list so better reply :)