Any flutplaying scandinavians out there using "snus"??

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Ketil
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Any flutplaying scandinavians out there using "snus"??

Post by Ketil »

Hi. A bit strange and perhaps very local question from a norwegian fluteplayer.. I have used "snus" (fine cut tobacco that you put under your upper lip.. very popular in Sweden and Norway.. USA has a variant also..) since I was about 16 years old. I am now 36. I started playing the flute a couple of years ago and although I do have some progress I am still having trouple getting my embouchure stable. I get good tone occasionally, but I am unable to maintain the tone very long. I remove the snus when I play, but are there anyone out there that have any experience with this?

I am trying to kick the bad habit, and if it improves my flute playing that may be the final motivation needed!

Any experience?

Ketil
fiddleflute
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Re: Any flutplaying scandinavians out there using "snus"??

Post by fiddleflute »

Hi Ketil,

now I also know what the brown stuff was I found in your flute when I cleaned it. Try using your snus as earplugs, maybe it helps ;-)

Slainte, Andreas
Ketil

Post by Ketil »

Hehe..not really helpful Andreas. You just won't let me forget that the flute was in worse shape than you expected, won't you... :poke: As mentioned above I remove the snus before playing, but I guess it doesn't help the muscle memory in my lips, though..
daveyfin

Post by daveyfin »

Hi,

I have a little experience with snus as my wife is scandinavian, and on my visits there I have known a few people to use it.