Beginner wooden flutes in the UK

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
technowhistle
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I need help transcribing whistle music! My 'by ear' listening and playing isn't all that good. I hope I can find that help here.

Beginner wooden flutes in the UK

Post by technowhistle »

I am looking to buy a wooden flute in the UK.

Thinking Fred Rose... are these good?

I only play whistles up to now and don't know where to start.

Help please!
I d̶o̶n̶'̶t̶have a beard.

I̶t̶'̶s̶ ̶g̶o̶n̶e̶!̶
hans
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

Re: Beginner wooden flutes in the UK

Post by hans »

I don't know about Fred Rose's flutes.
I got a lovely keyed flute made by Dominic Allan.
His workmanship and his customer service are superb.
He offers wooden student flutes for £165 plus postage, and an option to trade it in later if you want one of his regular flutes, keyed or keyless. See here:
http://www.djallan.co.uk/page3.htm
He lives in Somerset.
Jayhawk
Tell us something.: Well, just trying to update my avatar after a decade. Hope this counts! Ok, so apparently I must babble on longer.

Post by Jayhawk »

Fred Rose's flutes aren't talked about too much on this forum, but they've always received good reviews. That said, I've not played one.

Eric
hydromel89
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by hydromel89 »

Phil Bleazey makes nice wooden flutes.

http://www.bleazey.co.uk/flutepage.html

Cheers,

Pascal.
jim stone

Post by jim stone »

Martin Doyle makes what is widely thought to be one of the best flutes.
Yes, I've played some of them. Easy playing and holding, and beautiful. Among
the best flutes for ITM.
If you are seriously interested you
will probably treasure the flute for the rest of your life. If you decide
to part with it, you can sell it easily.