Learning the Transverse Flute

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
tje
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Learning the Transverse Flute

Post by tje »

Hello, I hope everyone is doing well this evening! It's a rainy day here in Florida. A perfect atmosphere for flute playing :)

I've recently become a bit of a woodwind maniac. In the past few months I've been playing recorders, tin whistles and flutes. I've been having such a ball exploring all these different instruments and playing with their beautiful sounds. Just last week, I acquired a Dixon Student Flute in D and it's been an interesting experience thus far. This is my first time ever playing a transverse, side-blown flute and though I have surely been learning, I'm still in the stage of try to get a good, solid tone out of the thing. I wanted to bring up a few small issues I'm having in hopes that someone can give me a pointer or two.

The first couple days I struggled a lot with getting any sound what so ever out of it, but now I can get a somewhat decent tone out of all the holes, though I still struggle with that last hole (D). I keep wanting to put my ring finger on it, but I keep forgetting there isn't a hole for my ring finger! For some reason that last hole is tough for me to reach with my pinky, and I have pretty long fingers. It seems when I struggle to get my pinky on that hole, the flute will move slightly and then I can't get a good tone out of it anymore because it's not positioned correctly under my lips. I'm wondering what you experienced flute players do with your ring finger and your pinky on your second hand with these simple-system flutes?