Flute or Low D Whistle

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
tombom11
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Flute or Low D Whistle

Post by tombom11 »

To celebrate my 50th birthday I get to buy myself a new instrument. I was ready to get my first Low D whistle, but thought maybe I should consider a flute instead. I'm a professional oboist and recorder player and have been playing irish whistles for several years now just for fun. Of all the instruments I play, I've never played the flute.

I don't want to open a can of worms and ask which is better - they're just different. I would though appreciate anyone's thoughts on the differences. I have lots of whistles, cheap and expensive, in many different keys, just not low D. I couldn't find any earlier topics through the search function and there aren't any flute players in any of my local sessions to ask.

Tom
Doug_Tipple
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Re: Flute or Low D Whistle

Post by Doug_Tipple »

I think that you might find the flute more interesting and challenging than either the whistle or the recorder. As a professional woodwind player, you should have few problems learning to play the flute.
chas
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by chas »

Needless to say (but I will anyway), you'll pick up the low whistle much more quickly than the flute.

The flute is a whole 'nother can of worms. It will take lots of patience and practice, but then if you play oboe, you've got those. You'll need to learn the appropriate embouchure, develop the necessary muscles, and all that. I have no idea whether that will mess with your oboe embouchure.