Simple and keyless

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Nachteule
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Simple and keyless

Post by Nachteule »

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new on here, and I'm new to the world of Irish music, as well. As I am from Austria, I usually play a Böhm type of flute, but have recently discovered the tin whistle on youtube via a couple of bag pipes links. :) Reading up on the tin whistle brought me here in the first place, and I'm already annoying my neighbours on a simple Generation high D. Yeah, that's all nice and well, but having seen your beautiful wooden flutes here, this nasty little feeling somewhere in my chest emerged. I want one of those!
Somehow I want it to be the complete opposite of my metal flute.
Wooden, small, keyless, simple.
And, not too expensive, as my budget for new instruments is unfortunately limited.

I've already seen the Dixon whistles with the flute head. Also interesting, but not woody enough.

I hope you can direct me to a couple of places, I'm happy with links.

Thanks in advance,
Night Owl
Denny

Re: Simple and keyless

Post by Denny »

well, hi there, y'all!

let's picc on small first....

The bog standard simple system (keyed or not) flute is the same range (and therefore real close to the same size) as yer Böhm.
Picture a bright blue ball just spinning, spinning free
It's dizzying, the possibilities. Ashes, Ashes all fall down.
jemtheflute
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by jemtheflute »

Try the Makers List/see Sticky Thread at top of this Forum, though the version there is even more out of date than the one I've linked here. (Another job for me to fix next month when I finish my Accounts and tax return!) Plenty of makers of all sorts to browse there, and you'll learn loads in the process. Best of luck with it!