Cracked Flute?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Lone-Coyote
antispam: No

Cracked Flute?

Post by Lone-Coyote »

Hi people, i've got a bamboo flute, and i've been playing for over 3 months now.
somehow i realized that it now has 2 cracks on the flute body (they werent there when i purchased)
it's a very playable flute and has a nice tone so i don't want to buy another one. Any one has tips on how to fix it?
the cracks are very small, i have to pay attention to see them. one is about 3 inches in length and the other is about 4. the width of the cracks is smaller than one millimetter.
The flute still sounds well enough but i'm affraid the cracks will get bigger.
should i just apply some household glue into them?
thank you
Julia Delaney
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I play fiddle, concertina, flute. I live in NH. Lived in Kilshanny, Co Clare, for about 20 years. Politically on the far left. Diet on the far right (plant-based fundamentalist). Musically in the middle of the pure drop.

Re: Cracked Flute?

Post by Julia Delaney »

I would spread the crack very carefully and put a bit of super glue in the crack. Squeeze it together and it should be fine.
Freedom is merely privilege extended, unless enjoyed by one and all. The Internationale
Gabriel
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by Gabriel »