Hall Crystal Low d Flute

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
scottie
antispam: No

Hall Crystal Low d Flute

Post by scottie »

Can anyone tell me if the Hall crystal low d flute is easy to get a decent sound from for a beginner? The embouchure looks a little large. I am just starting out and was just seeking advice or info on these. I had seen them at a reasonably low price and was curious about the sound and ease of playing. Does anyone have any playing experience with these?
Thanks,
Frank
plunk111
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Love playing trumpet and modern flute at church as well as Irish trad flute in a band. Been playing Irish trad and 18th century period music for about 15 years.

Re: Hall Crystal Low d Flute

Post by plunk111 »

Opinions may vary, but I would definitely recommend NOT using this as a beginner. I owned one (briefly) and found it very difficult to get a good tone. I would recommend buying one of Doug Tipple's flutes or make one from instructions on his web site. Doug's flutes are the ideal starter flute, both price-wise and play-wise. He's a member here as well...
Pat Plunkett, Wheeling, WV
I.D.10-t

Post by I.D.10-t »

They are a non-adjustable one piece flute. Playing with others may become a problem.

The finger holes and embouchure are raised and not like most other simple system flutes. Won't roll off the table, but feels kind of funny. Wood, plastic, glass, etc. all have durability issues. Glass has impact issues.

Hall's flutes have a tapered head like a Boehm flute. Boehm adjusted the hole size hole size and fitted keys to fully make his flute. This flute did not and made other compromises.

I think that these are current and correct facts, but the question is what do you want to play?

Easy or decent? I don't know, but (in my limited experience) Hall flutes are different, and will not be anything like another flute.