tin whistle maintenance and tuning

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
KEENER1
antispam: No

tin whistle maintenance and tuning

Post by KEENER1 »

I have been playing for a few years now but still regard myself as a novice. My query concerns keeping my whistle in tune. I mainly play a generation shush - I ahve young kids and a less than sympathetic mrs. Sometimes the whistle sounds reasonably ok but at other times it seems out of tune. i know it may be down to my playing but does have anyone have any tips about maintenance- storage, temperature etc that might help me stay in tune

Regards

Keener1
fancypiper
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Re: tin whistle maintenance and tuning

Post by fancypiper »

Tubular whistles tend to be a bit flat in the upper octave in my experience, so playing with others or with recordings should help your tuning.

I basically tune the bottom note and let the rest go, remembering to blow a bit harder in the octave.

Conical whistles have the octaves tuned slightly better IMHO plus they have more "give" with breath pressure. My Clarke original design never needs tuning, just a bit of "warming up" when it is cold, either by holding in both hands or covering the fipple and blowing several breaths through the whistle.

HTH
hoopy mike
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by hoopy mike »

I tend to tune to the G, once the whistle has been warmed up (better to get mid-range notes in tune than the bell note). It sounds like something may be slipping out of tune with the whistler or maybe the audience - I've never known a whistle to go out of tune and back in unless the head is slipping. Do you have another whistle to compare against? Maybe something like a Dixon trad would be worth a blow.