Help with Roisin Dubh

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
jmryan
antispam: No

Help with Roisin Dubh

Post by jmryan »

I first heard this played years ago by one of the Dubliners on the mandolin and I taught it was fantastic. I have heard it played by various musicians on the tin whistle. I downloaded a copy of this tune from only God knows where. I am a relative newcomer to the whistle after playing the bagpipes in Chicago for 30 years. I tried learning it by ear a couple of days ago and the only whistle that seems to work with this version is my Susato Bflat. It seems to be in the key of Eflat major. I have only the first part down but it gave me pleasure because I am not good at learning by ear. Also who is it playing this? I hope some of the experts can help me because I am not good also at determining keys. I have uploaded the Mp3 to the following URL.
http://www.box.net/shared/a2b0b11qpj
Any help would be appreciated on the musician and the keys, thanks John M Ryan
hoopy mike
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Help with Roisin Dubh

Post by hoopy mike »

Folk312
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Post by Folk312 »

There are several recordings of the tune on this website:

http://www.tinwhistletunes.com/clipssnip/slowairs.html

The site mentions the whistle it was played on.

I have e-mailed you the sheet music version I have.

Nice tune by the way.
DrPhill
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by DrPhill »

Lovely tune. Must learn it......

Does this clip help you identify?. Apologies if I am wrong. No, I take that back. The YouTube one is worth listening to as well. :D

The Session has a version notated as a hornpipe. Drat. Maybe I can disentangle it.....
Phill

One does not equal two. Not even for very large values of one.
jmryan

Post by jmryan »

Dr. Phill,
Thank you, Thank you. You hit the hammer on the bingo nail.