Transposing question

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
highland-piper
antispam: No

Transposing question

Post by highland-piper »

I really like Liz Carroll's Lost in the Loop. She plays it in C, starting on a C.

I found that by starting on A on a D whistle (playing in A) the whole tune fits.

So what whistle would put the tune back into C? Would that be an F whistle?
plunk111
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Love playing trumpet and modern flute at church as well as Irish trad flute in a band. Been playing Irish trad and 18th century period music for about 15 years.

Re: Transposing question

Post by plunk111 »

Uhhhh... What???
Pat Plunkett, Wheeling, WV
hans
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

Post by hans »

Your reasoning is correct. But listening to the tune I would rather play it on a C whistle, since it goes up to second octave A, and that would be difficult on a F whistle.
highland-piper

Post by highland-piper »

But you can't play the A's below C on a C whistle, and those seem to be a crucial part of the tune.

I was thinking if I get serious I could potentially make a low-F whistle so as to play it in the same register as the fiddle. But I'd need to find a fiddler willing to learn it first..

MTGuru

Post by MTGuru »

highland-piper wrote:So what whistle would put the tune back into C? Would that be an F whistle?
By your description ... Yes, an F whistle.

The tune is bi-modal in CMaj/DDor. So it actually sits better in GMaj/ADor fingering. Playing this on a G whistle puts it back in the recorded key. In either case, you need to fold most of the C part down an octave, but it works.