Bouzouki or Octave Mandolin?

Our first forum for instruments you don't blow.
crickett
antispam: No

Bouzouki or Octave Mandolin?

Post by crickett »

Greetings. I am new to this section of C&F, and new to stringed instruments in general. I would like to start learning a stringed instrument for accompaniment in ITM and I like the sound of these instruments. But I am unclear which I should choose to learn. (I am considering a Trinity College instrument.) Is there one instrument that is more common in ITM/celtic music, or that "works" better? Is one a lot harder to learn than the other? Is one better for accompaniment?

I had the thought that with an octave mandolin I could take regular mandolin lessons (which seem more readily available). But then I realized there may be tuning differences. Really, I don't know what to think.

Any thoughts about how I might make this decision would be greatly appreciated.
Nanohedron
Moderatorer
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Been a fluter, citternist, and uilleann piper; committed now to the way of the harp.

Oh, yeah: also a mod here, not a spammer. A matter of opinion, perhaps.

Re: Bouzouki or Octave Mandolin?

Post by Nanohedron »

Typically - typically - an octave mando is tuned in fifths (GDAE), whereas a 'zouk is typically - typically - tuned in an inversion scale (so I think it's called; anyway GDAD), or open (ADAD).

This not to say you couldn't tune an octave mando to GDAD, and I recall at least one 'zouk tuned to GDAE specifically for better ease at melody playing.

For my money GDAD sounds better for backup, but this is just my personal taste, mind you. Never tried ADAD for myself. GDAE can work, of course, but it's the least favorite to my ear. Hard to say exactly why.