Starting on harmonica

We have some evidence, however, that you may have to pay for the reeds.
apache
antispam: No

Starting on harmonica

Post by apache »

Hi.

I have been listening to "celtic" trad for a couple of years, but have never played any tunes within that music.
I recently listened to Andy Irvine & Paul Brady, and recognized a harmonica being used in the tune Mary and the Soldier. I have also heard harmonica being used in some Patrick Street tunes, and I liked that sound.

So now I'm thinking of both starting to learn some irish traditional music, and also the harmonica at the same time.
I'll be brief. All I want is a couple of your answers to these questions:
diatonic or chromatic? "Paddy Richter" recommended? Any recommended online stores and harmonica models? Listening advice (for more tunes that have good harmonica playing)? And finally, do you know any good tutorial DVDs or books?

I'm thankful in advance
Whistling Archer
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Starting on harmonica

Post by Whistling Archer »

Get a Lee Oskar diatonic , in A to start. I know a bunch of Irish songs are played in G and D , but to get started get a A. Not too high , not too low. Lees seem to me to be the best for the money. If you want to spend a bit more buy Seydel.
Dont buy a Big river , new marine mand ,etc. mostly junk IMHO

wait a while brfore you get a Paddy, you will only confuse yourself.
Steve
http://www.youtube.com/user/sjeter61
My tunes , if you're interested
apache

Post by apache »

Nice. I'll look into those brands.
Of course I'm still interested in book or dvd recommendations, and also irish music recordings with good harmonica playing.

Brendan Power is good. I think I will order from him when and if I in the future get a Paddy Richter.
Whistling Archer