Doubling on Reeds

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
crookedtune
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Doubling on Reeds

Post by crookedtune »

I'm just curious to know if anyone has strong feelings about pros/cons of flute players also playing reed instruments.

I've been working pretty hard on Irish flute for a few years, and feel I've made a lot of good progress. A few months ago, I started messing with a clarinet and xaphoon, and have really enjoyed both. But lately, my flute embouchure has gone all to Hell. Very frustrating!!

It took me a bit of time to start connecting the two, but I suspect they ARE connected. I did some research, and found this guy, who argues against doubling on flutes and reeds: http://www.larrykrantz.com/doubling.htm

Anyone out there playing flute and reeds?
Charlie Gravel

“I am so clever that sometimes I don't understand a single word of what I am saying.”
― Oscar Wilde
ancientfifer
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Re: Doubling on Reeds

Post by ancientfifer »

crookedtune wrote:I'm just curious to know if anyone has strong feelings about pros/cons of flute players also playing reed instruments.
I've been working pretty hard on Irish flute for a few years, and feel I've made a lot of good progress. A few months ago, I started messing with a clarinet and xaphoon, and have really enjoyed both. But lately, my flute embouchure has gone all to Hell. Very frustrating!!
It took me a bit of time to start connecting the two, but I suspect they ARE connected. I did some research, and found this guy, who argues against doubling on flutes and reeds: http://www.larrykrantz.com/doubling.htm
Anyone out there playing flute and reeds?
Crooked -