New To Recorder

A place for players of other folk/world music wind instruments.
jvestal

New To Recorder

Post by jvestal »

Hello everyone,

I've been browsing these forums for the past couple of days. I decided to take recorder up again. I'm a drummer by nature, but I used to play trombone, and when I was a kid I fiddled with an old plastic recorder we had.

I was wanting to learn how to play a new instrument, and settled on recorder again. So I ordered a cheap plastic one off of Musician's Friend (along with a djembe drum which I had really wanted), so nothing out of my pocket really except a couple bucks if I didn't like it.

After playing it for a while, and learning B, A, C, & G on it, I'm thoroughly convinced I'm actually going to seriously consider taking it up. I have a soprano, and will be looking to buy a soprano/alto set. I'm looking for the under $100 range as I'll upgrade to a better quality flute once I've got more spending cash, and I really know I'm going to pursue it beyond pure hobby.

So down to my question - anyone have any suggestions for makers?

Thanks!

Joshua
Ceili_whistle_man
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: New To Recorder

Post by Ceili_whistle_man »

Hi Joshua,

Welcome to the mad world of whistling!!

Just a few questions...Are you sure you are meaning 'recorder' and not whistle?...as in 'tin whistle', or Irish whistle?
You mention this also...I'll upgrade to a better quality flute ....?
There are many ex recorder players here on C and F who will probably be able to point you in the right direction. You may even be lucky enough to be offered one from one of our posters who has seen the error of his ways and has now found a way of getting rid of his r------r :D :P

Happy hunting!
Whale Oil Beef Hooked!
jvestal

Post by jvestal »

I assure you I mean quite well recorder also known as flute, flauto dolce, etc. And I called it a flute, because I consider it as such. Just has a fipple on it. :D