Dixon D vs Susato D

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
bdatki
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by bdatki »

Hello,

I am a new whistler. I currently own a Sweetone, which is merely ok, and I think it has some problems with its second octave above and beyond my own crapulence. I am looking at a nontunable soprano D, since I won't be playing with a group, and I am a student so money does count. Out of Dixon D and Susato D, which would you recommend in terms of easier/better 2nd octave, breath requirements, tone, playability, etc?

Thanks!
peeplj

Post by peeplj »

Either is good, both have loyal fans, both have vocal detractors as well.

Which is true of almost any whistle.

I like both, myself.

Best,

--James
http://www.flutesite.com
bdatki

Post by bdatki »

Ah. I'm not trying to start a war, I just wanted to see if there was any consensus that one was better for beginners.

Thanks for your input!
Byll
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Long ago, I was told that I faked iTrad whistle work very well. I took that comment to heart. 20 years of private lessons - and many, many hours of rehearsal later - I certainly hope I have improved...

Post by Byll »

While my Susatos have been sold to one of my band members, I have always respected the brand. I know Susatos have taken a lot of subjective heat on this board, which seems to be ameliorating, of late...They are well made, consistent, have reasonable air requirements, are in tune with themselves, and do not get lost in a crowd. Can't compare the second octave, as I have never even seen a Dixon.

If you can convince Mack Hoover to sell you a whitecap, your desires, as stated in your post, will be met for a very fair price.

Best.
Byll
'Everything Matters...'
Lisa Diane Cope 1963-1979
E = Fb

Post by E = Fb »

What's a whitecap?
Ridseard

Post by Ridseard »