Best whistle for an oboe player?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
GordonH
antispam: No

Best whistle for an oboe player?

Post by GordonH »

A friend of mine is very keen on traditional music and is a regular attender at festivals. By profession she is an orchestral oboe player and she has had a go at the whistle in the past but has real problems overblowing because the back pressure on the whistle is a lot less than the oboe.
Do you think a whistle with more back pressure might be easier for her?
Or would the opposite be true, and one that could take plenty of air like a Clarke and therefore resist the overblowing?

Reason for the question is that I am thinking of giving here one as a gift which will be easier for her to start on.
I want it to be a surprise.
Otherwise I would get her to try some out.
MoonMind
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Best whistle for an oboe player?

Post by MoonMind »

I'm not an oboe player but a saxophonist; since she's a professional, I'd get her a whistle that's really worth it in your eyes rather then trying out something you're not sure you would recommend. She'll be able to get used to the whistle pretty quickly if she really tries. It's true that it's very, very different, especially when it comes to breath control, but apart from the amount of pressure need, she'll already know all about it! Reed players, especially good ones, are very aware of what can be done with air...

M.
brewerpaul
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by brewerpaul »

Much as the whistlemaker's here among us would like to sell her one :D I'd really suggest getting her a good lower priced whistle until she's sure she even likes playing it. Maybe a Freeman tweaked one. She needs to decide what characteristics she wants in a whistle before you spend the big bucks. You could always get her a handmade one for her next birthday, Christmas etc once she's really into it.