Whistle Noob having a problem. Advice please??

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
gman1033

Whistle Noob having a problem. Advice please??

Post by gman1033 »

I'm brand new to whistle playing. I just bought a Clarke Original. Makes sense to me, and while I obviously need a lot of practice to get proficient, the fingering for the major notes is pretty intuitive, and I feel good about my future with the whistle. With that said...I am having a problem.
things will be going great, and then it seems like the whistle just "siezes up" on me. It will be all squeaks, and not able to get the note that I am looking for.
I realize that at this stage it is most likely user error...but I cant figure out what I am doing wrong. As far as I can tell, everything is the same as when it was working fine. I check to be sure that the holes are properly covered, and it doesnt help. If I wait a minute and try again, everything is fine.
Does anyone have any ideas on what I might be doing wrong? :puppyeyes:
hoopy mike
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Whistle Noob having a problem. Advice please??

Post by hoopy mike »

Welcome!

Sounds like the whistle is clogging - moisture build up. Try placing a finger over the windway hole and blow the moisture out. Alternatively try a quick suck through the whistle.

The Clarke Original has a wooden fipple, which takes a while to settle in, so the best thing to do is to keep playing it little and often.
ahogrelius
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm just trying to update my profile. I need to change my location since I no longer is living in Sweden. I'm still playing the whistle though for the most time I'm just a lurker on the Chiff and Fipple board.

Post by ahogrelius »

Hi and welcome to the crazy world of whistles!!

Check for condensation is what I would suggest!