Session question

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
boatgirl
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Session question

Post by boatgirl »

I recently started playing in a session! I love it and it is doing wonders for my timing. I was wondering though why it is I can practice perfectly before session and then forget snippets of a tune during session. The group is really encouraging and have complimented my playing but I still get the occasional 'brain f*rt' and lose it. I have been extremely insecure in the past playing in front of others and it still haunts me at times. Does this ever go away? Any tips for getting beyond it? Thanks :-)
Azalin
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by Azalin »

That one is easy... Practice!! :-) The more you practice a tune, the more you'll be able to play it even when stressed out or under the influence of alcohol. Also, the more you play with people, the less nervous you get and the easier it gets to play tunes.

But nothing beats practicing a lot, lot, lot... and a lot!
anniemcu
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10
Location: A little left of center, and 100 miles from St. Louis

Post by anniemcu »

What Az said. :)
anniemcu
---
"You are what you do, not what you claim to believe." -Gene A. Statler
---
"Olé to you, none-the-less!" - Elizabeth Gilbert
---
http://www.sassafrassgrove.com
Bothrops

Post by Bothrops »

boatgirl: Congrats! I had my first session a little time ago, and it was really amazing and I had a lot of fun.
I'm also VERY insecure, and I also forgot many tunes while I was playing (even in some tunes that I've been playing for a long time). I assume that it was due of the nerves, and that could be solved playing with people more frequently.