Dixon Trad - Get One?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Jason Paul

Dixon Trad - Get One?

Post by Jason Paul »

I'm thinking I may be in the market for a new whistle, without breaking the bank. I'm considering the Dixon Trad brass. I thought there was at least one long thread about it, but can't find it for some reason.

I've seen it recommended a few times, but I also seem to remember seeing some tweaking recommendations. It also seems I remember reading about some tuning issues. Does OXX OOO work for Cnat?

How is the volume? I generally play alone, so don't need a particularly loud whistle.

Any other general comments about, or known issues with this whistle? I know it's just a little over $20, so I don't expect $200 performance. Also FYI, I've been playing about two years, so I'm not really a beginner.

Also, where would I get one from? Whistle & Drum appears to be out of stock for brass. It looks like Harp & Dragon and Hobgoblin US may have them, but I've never ordered from either.

Thanks,
Jason
Boody
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Boody »

I bought one from harp and dragon, and it went great. The service was very good. Volume is pretty normal, about the same as a generation.
I believe OXX OOO works for Cnat, but then again I don't have very good pitch so I cant really tell.
I don't know what you would need to do to it to tweak it, it plays great already.
I really don't have any problems with mine (any problems caused by the whistle that is)
FJohnSharp
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I used to be a regular then I took up the bassoon. Bassoons don't have a lot of chiff. Not really, I have always been a drummer, and my C&F years were when I was a little tired of the drums. Now I'm back playing drums. I mist the C&F years, though.

Post by FJohnSharp »

I got one as a throw in on a trade and I really like it.