Any Shakuhachi players?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
brewerpaul
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Any Shakuhachi players?

Post by brewerpaul »

I just made a PVC Shakuhachi and am starting to play around with it. Anyone else play these interesting Japanese flutes?
Any playing suggestions? I can get both octaves out of my PVC Shak, but the notes are not really strong: I may need to tweak it a bit.
Got wood?
http://www.Busmanwhistles.com
Let me custom make one for you!
mukade

Post by mukade »

I studied Kinko-school shakuhachi for three years.

I moved away from my teacher and pretty much lost interest in playing.
The shakuhachi is the single most amazing instrument I have played.
The range of expression a skilled player can get makes the Irish flute sound like a table leg.

I still have five shaks here. I must get around to putting them on the auction.

Reading the traditional notation was always a pleasure.

Mukade
'The people who play the flat pipes usually have more peace of mind. I like that.'
- Tony Mcmahon
Bothrops
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Bothrops »

Oh my gosh!! :D
TC

Post by TC »

I've made a few PVC shaks of varying lengths with decent results. 1.8 is the traditional length and is also tuned to "D" which is nice for us whistlers. There's a freeware shakuhachi tuner download which was pretty helpful in getting them in tune, sorry I can't provide a link. The first big hurdle is getting your sound. A focused embouchure will be the key, much more so than overblowing. If you've already gotten notes from 2 registers than you're well on your way!