Bb whistles

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Bothrops
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Bb whistles

Post by Bothrops »

I'm new to whistle playing and to music in general, and I'm asking: Why are Bb whistles so special?!
What I mean.. I see that people become crazy for a Bb whistle, but I don't understand why. They certainly sound pretty, but isn't Bb a 'weird' tone, or I'm wrong? Are they useful?

Please, if you can explain this to a total newbie I'll thank you a lot!

Cheers,
Bothrops
FJohnSharp
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I used to be a regular then I took up the bassoon. Bassoons don't have a lot of chiff. Not really, I have always been a drummer, and my C&F years were when I was a little tired of the drums. Now I'm back playing drums. I mist the C&F years, though.

Post by FJohnSharp »

For me, the Bb compared to a D holds the same appeal as the cello compared to a violin.
colomon
Tell us something.: Whistle player, aspiring C#/D accordion and flute player, and aspiring tunesmith. Particularly interested in the music of South Sligo and Newfoundland. Inspired by the music of Peter Horan, Fred Finn, Rufus Guinchard, Emile Benoit, and Liz Carroll.

I've got some compositions up at http://www.harmonyware.com/tunes/SolsTunes.html

Post by colomon »

Exactly. I virtually never play a Bb in public, but it's one of my favorite whistles for playing around the house -- I love the sound and it's so comfortable under my fingers.
Sol's Tunes (new tune 2/2020)
jemtheflute

Post by jemtheflute »