Newbie here

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
epi406
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Newbie here

Post by epi406 »

New to the pennywhistle here so of course I have questions. How do you get the ##@%^$&&& to work? Seriously this instrument is proving difficult for me to get the hang of. ( of which to get the hang).

Especially breathing-blowing. I get squeaks and squaks. The thing jumps octavies left and right. Sometimes I change fingering but the whistle doesn't change to the new note.

That is enough for now. I am new to Celtic music and am liking the genre. Just a few pointers to keep me going and to keep peace in the neighborhood when I preacice.

Thanks for your answers! :boggle:
That's just my opinion, I could be wrong.
pipersgrip
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by pipersgrip »

breathe in it, dont blow hard. just breathe, and it should sound nicely. what kind of whistle do you have? and the whistle changes notes from the bottom up. if you lift your top pointer finger, then the only note will be is C#, no matter what other fingers you move. do you have a tutor book?
"In prayer, it is better to have a heart without words, than words without a heart." John Bunyan
squidgirl

Post by squidgirl »

Sometimes weird squeaks and squalks happen when holes are covered, but not covered quite all the way. It can take a bit practice to consistently get the fingers down so the holes are actually fully covered, and stay fully covered as other fingers go up and down. Air leaks around the fingers can cause some of the weirdest whistle sounds...