Flat and Concert Pitch

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
gallant_murray
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Flat and Concert Pitch

Post by gallant_murray »

Ok, I did a search on this but there was just too much to sift through. I'm not piper and I'm relatively new to serious ITM listening. Is there a clip or two that someone can direct me to that illustrates the difference between concert pitched pipes and flat pitched? I have an idea of the differences, but I'm not sure I could listen to a recording and tell you what type of pipes are being played. I kinda get the impression that most 'purists' prefer the flat pitched. Is that correct?
Thanks.
Ramzy Berbawy

I think there's just one kind of folks. Folks.
-Scout Finch
Nanohedron
Moderatorer
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Been a fluter, citternist, and uilleann piper; committed now to the way of the harp.

Oh, yeah: also a mod here, not a spammer. A matter of opinion, perhaps.

Re: Flat and Concert Pitch

Post by Nanohedron »

gallant_murray wrote:I kinda get the impression that most 'purists' prefer the flat pitched. Is that correct?
Thanks.
I can't say that's necessarily so. I think it's more accurate to say that enthusiasts of the tradition (so much nicer than "purists", don't you think? :wink: ) just prefer good piping when all's said and done. That said, flat pitch holds a special place in my heart (my own main squeeze is a C set), but I've heard plenty of piping on concert sets where I couldn't imagine it being any other way.

It also comes down to the instrument and how it's reeded. I've heard both flat and concert sets that I thought were not set up at their best, and so the experience wasn't so satisfying.
"If you take music out of this world, you will have nothing but a ball of fire." - Balochi musician
BigDavy

Post by BigDavy »

Payday, Piping, Percussion and Poetry- the 4 best Ps
Joseph E. Smith