Boehmish Bansuri

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Sillydill
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Boehmish Bansuri

Post by Sillydill »

I came accross this recently.

From Anubodh a NEO-BANSURI. It is a bansuri made in a very Boehmish style. Here's a link: http://www.anubodh.com/neo_bansuri.htm

Just thought it would be interesting, though pricey at $245, but Anubodh basuri appear to be very finely crafted.

All the Best!

Jordan
Doug_Tipple
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by Doug_Tipple »

From the Neo-bansuri website:
"Neo Bansuri gives you

Increased Loudness (Higher volume)
Very stable and rich sounding lower octave
Minimal or no sibilance (hissing sound)
Richer overtones
Slightly higher blowing resistance
Point to note : 'Slightly higher blowing resistance' -while provides added richness, stability and volume to the lower octave, can be just a little daunting for an absolute newbie as the blowing needs to be more focused in the higher registers."

The above characteristics are the result of the increased chimney depth of the embouchure hole due to the presence of a lip plate on a thin-wall bamboo flute. The same improvement can be noticed with the addition of a lip plate to a polymer flute.
talasiga

Post by talasiga »

Doug_Tipple wrote:.......
The above characteristics are the result of the increased chimney depth of the embouchure hole due to the presence of a lip plate on a thin-wall bamboo flute.
Yes, that's really original insight there Doug. If you get a flute and it sounds different after you put a lip plate on it, the difference must be due to the lip plate.
qui jure suo utitur neminem laedit
Tweeto

Post by Tweeto »