C flute recommendations

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
malanstevenson
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing the uilleann pipes, flute and whistle for about 18 years or so. I've been listening to Irish and Scottish traditional music for almost 40 years now.

C flute recommendations

Post by malanstevenson »

Hi folks,

I'm seeking some of your collective advice / experience / anecdotes concerning makers of keyless flutes in the key of C. I suppose they could be made in a Rudall-ish or Pratten-oid manner, yes? Or do the longer body and stretch necessitate a generally smaller-holed flute?

Any recommendations / thoughts would be muchly appreciated.

Cheers,
Mark
johnkerr
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by johnkerr »

One of the nice things about C flutes is that you get much of the mellowness of a Bb flute while retaining much of the ease of playing and responsiveness of a D flute. So for instance I have a Patrick Olwell C flute that requires very little extra finger stretch over what my Olwell D flute does, and the hole sizes are pretty much the same. So I would say that if you can play a particular maker's D flute you would have no problem with their C flute - provided of course that you're not already at the absolute edge of your limit in being able to handle the D flute.
malanstevenson
Tell us something.: I've been playing the uilleann pipes, flute and whistle for about 18 years or so. I've been listening to Irish and Scottish traditional music for almost 40 years now.

Post by malanstevenson »

Thanks, John. I don't imagine I'd have trouble with any slight stretch, as I also play a C chanter and don't mind that at all. Olwell, hmmmmm.

By the way, forgot to mention feel free to PM if anyone would rather not post comments here.
malanstevenson

Post by malanstevenson »