ITM, tunebooks and copyright law

For all instruments -- please read F.A.Q. before posting.
beowulf573
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

ITM, tunebooks and copyright law

Post by beowulf573 »

Since I started playing the flute a few years back I've been collecting tunes in ABC format to learn and archive in order to refresh my memory. Recently I've looked into the idea of making these tunes available at cost via a print on demand service for myself and others who may want to learn the tunes played at the local session.

However, the issue of copyright seems to be a bit difficult to resolve, or at least difficult enough that it may not be worth the effort given that this will be done in my spare time.

So my question is, for anyone who's looked into this, what's the best way of dividing tunes into those that are old enough to be out of copyright and that I can publish in booklet form versus those that are still covered and that I would owe royalties on?

Is this even possible without a great deal of research, or should I just forget the whole thing and let the folks who know what they are doing publish books?

There are sites such has http://irishtune.info that list the earliest known source for a tune, is there a cut off date, say 1925 for example, I could use and be reasonably sure I'm in the clear?

I've found several good articles on IP law and ITM, it seems the issue is a sticky one and far from resolved. Thanks for any suggestions or ideas.
Eddie
Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read. -Groucho Marx
dubhlinn
antispam: No

Re: ITM, tunebooks and copyright law

Post by dubhlinn »