Definition of terms associated with tin whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Donn
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Definition of terms associated with tin whistle

Post by Donn »

:-? Is there a list and definition of terms associated with the tin whistle?
Since I'm new to the tin whistle there are a few terms I have no idea what they mean, such as backpressure, chiff, timber, etc. I've seen reviews with the word "pure" tone as apposed to what?
Thanks.
peeplj

Post by peeplj »

Whew! You don't ask small questions, do you? :wink:

I'll take a shot at some of these, if I leave something out or don't get something just right, other folks will chime in, until you share (roughly, anyway) the same confused understanding as the rest of us! :lol: 8)

Whistles are tuneable or non-tuneable. A tuneable whistle has some mechanism for shortening or lengthening the whistle to change its pitch to match that of other instruments. A non-tunable whistle lacks this ability, although some inexpensive whistles with plastic fipples can be made tuneable by a simple tweak that makes the fipple moveable on the tube.

Tube -- the longest part of the whistle, which includes the holes your fingers cover. Usually made of metal, such as brass, aluminum, nickel, or tin.

Fipple -- the part of the whistle that goes between your lips and either includes the entire windway, or makes one surface of a windway with the other surface being made by the block. Fipples are often plastic, particularly a tough acetal resin called delrin is often used on high-end whistles. Fipples can also be wood or metal. Sometimes they are separate from the tube, and sometimes part of it.

Block -- a piece of wood, plastic, or metal which fits inside the fipple to form the inner surface of the windway.