Newbie needs help!

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Nightingale
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Newbie needs help!

Post by Nightingale »

Hi,

I have a Feadog brass whistle in D, and I am having so many problems with the 2nd octave!! The notes crack all over the place, and I just can't figure it out!

I'm sure this is a common problem...but the thing is, I'm a flute player! I'm studying flute performance in university, so I consider myself a pretty professional flutist. You'd think I could play the tin whistle without much difficulty, right? I mean, the breathing and air pressure concepts are basically the same as flute for reaching the high registers.

Any suggestions on what I may be doing wrong? I've read through the forum alot and seen stuff about tweaking the whistle...but I really have no idea how that works so I don't want to try it!

I REALLY want to play the whistle well! I have for years...my dad's from Cape Breton, so I've spent many a summer there surrounded by wonderful music, and I want to PLAY IT!!!!

help please!!!!
waltcamp45

Post by waltcamp45 »

First, don't beat yourself up. The cackle you describe is something I was writing about in a different thread on this forum a couple of days ago.

Feadogs and Generations (as well as several other cylindrical bore whistles) are known for having a shrillish tone and for not playing cleanly in the second octave.

Before you give up on tin whistles, try different brands (and materials) until you find one that suits you and your playing style.

Among cheap whistles, Clarkes are a favorite of mine. Among mid-range whistles, Susatos are well regarded (I just recently got my first Susato--a C--and I really like it). For a higher-end(ish) whistle, I'd recommend Dave O'Brien. I bought one of his copper whistles a few months ago and am still delieriously happy with it.

Hang in there!

Walt
Trip-

Post by Trip- »

To tell you the truth,