Embouchure and "White Noise"

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
In The Woods
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Embouchure and "White Noise"

Post by In The Woods »

I've started out learning flute with my Tipple, and while I can get a good-enough embouchure to sound the lower and upper register with some consistency, I notice that there is a lot of what I would call "white noise", or hiss, when I'm in the upper register. I also noticed that I run out of air very quickly, and I'm then sometimes literally wrenching myself around to pump in more air, which throws my fingers off just enough to muffle the tone, and,.... well, you get the picture.

I've been playing for about four months. Is this about where I should be? Or should I have progressed farther? I do understand that it will take some time for me to become comfortable with my flute, but I'm having fun trying, and every now and again I manage to squeeze a recognizable tune out it. :D And I'm NOT blaming the instrument; it's me.

Any suggestions?

I also realize that I have gotten a bad case of WHOA, and taking up the flute along with the whistle is my particular lunacy, but I can't help myself! Stay away or I'll go crazy, and take you with me!!! :boggle:

Thanks to all who reply.

With best regards,

Steve Mack
Ring the bells that still can ring.
Forget your perfect offering.
There is a crack in everything.
That's how the light get's in.

Leonard Cohen
Denny
antispam: No

Post by Denny »

smaller hole 'tween lips, better focus of air stream, hit the edge of the hole at the correct angle with the air stream

sounds like you're doing fine

takes a while to develop the muscles
jim stone

Post by jim stone »

Second this. You're doing fine. Patience, practice,
a few more months....
Davie Baby 2

Post by Davie Baby 2 »

my tipple has a tipple-fajardo wedge, i think that helps.
Flutered
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by Flutered »