Looking for some flute advise

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
SteveB
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am a flute player. I play ITM pretty much exclusively. Like to browse and occasionally post on flute related discussions

Looking for some flute advise

Post by SteveB »

Hello all,

I'm de-lurking to ask for some opinions. I've been tooting away on a Tipple PVC flute in D for the past 7 months. I've gotten to the point where I'd like to upgrade to a "real" flute (not that the Tipple hasn't been great, it has). I've done some research and have narrowed my choices down to either a Hamilton or a Copley (both are in my price range, both makers are well-regarded, and i just like the sound of both).

The design of both these flutes is "Pratten-esque" and I've read that Pratten style flutes are very demanding in terms of embrochure and air requirements. Given this, how rocky is my transition from the Tipple to either a Hamilton or a Copley likely to be? Thanks,

SteveB
Sillydill
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Flutes

Post by Sillydill »

Hey SteveB,

Welcome! :)

I've not played a Hamilton, but I hear they are not especially easy to play. However, I have described Copley's flutes as amiable, they are very easy to get along with (not especially demanding, but very rewarding).

All the Best!

Jordan
flutefry
Tell us something.: Pipes have become my main instrument, but I still play the flute. I have emerged from the "instrument acquisition" phase, and am now down to one full set of pipes (Gordon Galloway), and one flute (Hudson Siccama).

Post by flutefry »

Steve,

In a thread last weeks on Aebi flutes, a poster "Trish" said that she was thinking of selling her Hamilton, but it was buried in the thread, so I doubt if many noticed it. Perhaps you should contact her.

Hugh
I thought I had no talent, but my talent is to persist anyway.
greenspiderweb