Low D for Small Hands?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
gwen
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Low D for Small Hands?

Post by gwen »

I'd like to get a Low D, but I have small hands and I am a beginner. I don't want one that takes huge amounts of air, either. Does anyone have any suggestions as to which one I should try?
Thanks,
Gwen
Loren
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: You just slip out the back, Jack
Make a new plan, Stan
You don't need to be coy, Roy
Just get yourself free
Hop on the bus, Gus
You don't need to discuss much
Just drop off the key, Lee
And get yourself free

Post by Loren »

At one point Colin Goldie made a Low D with the closest hole spacing of any (low D) whistle I ever measured, plus his whistles always require a very low volume of air (although you do have to supply some pressure.) I'd suggest contacting Colin, and asking him for a custom whistle, to the old specs.

Colin, I know I'm putting you on the spot here, but I do want another Low D with tone holes like my old one, and I'll force you into making them again one way or the other! :lol:

Gary H. do you still have my old Overton Low D?

Loren
jim stone

Post by jim stone »

If you have small hands but you don't have skinny fingers,
the Howard Low D is good, and it isn't expensive, either.
The Dixon will serve as well, cheaper still.
The Whistle Shop online is a good place, and if you
call Thom, the owner, he will give you good advice.

Neither whistle takes a lot of air.
swizzlestick

Post by swizzlestick »

The Sweetheart low D might be what you are looking for. Take a look at the hole spacing and the offset holes:

http://www.sweetheartflute.com/lowwhistle.html

A bit expensive, but I hear good things about the sound.

However, be aware that most people end up using Piper's Grip or some modification of it for low D whistles. It really helps.