Clare whistles

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
phil_doleman
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Clare whistles

Post by phil_doleman »

Hi,
Lots of discussion about cheapies lately, and how well some people love them. I'm lucky to have 2 old brass generations (C & F) handed down by my mum which play beatifully. I'm still looking for a good cheap D (pref. not too loud, too!).
The whistle shop is raving about the Clare whistles, though I only seem to read about the 2 piece on this board. Anyone have and love a Clare?
And given the reviews, a Feadog has to be worth a pop!
Screeeech!!!

Re: Clare whistles

Post by Screeeech!!! »

phil_doleman wrote: And given the reviews, a Feadog has to be worth a pop!
I wouldn't part with mine. :D
WilliamC
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Whistle and flute player. I've been playing for about 15 years now.
I am addicted to Chiff and Fipple. I access this site at least once a day.

Post by WilliamC »

I have the Clare 2-piece and consider it my favorite. Nice, sweet sound.
RonKiley

Post by RonKiley »

I have several Clare one piece whistles. One of them is very good. The others are fair. None is as nice as my Feadog. I also have a very nice Waltons Mellow D. The other one I have is to airy and harsh sounding. Remember a good whistle is one you like when you play it. No one elses opinion matters.

Ron
I've never met a whistle I didn't want.
Congratulations

Re: Clare whistles

Post by Congratulations »

I actually used my Clare 2-piece as my first major tweak. I cut out the soundblade and installed a (red tortex, thanks Bloomfield) guitar pick in its stead. Worked wonders for it.
oh Lana Turner we love you get up
Pat Cannady
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by Pat Cannady »