C# on a low d... tips?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Berti66
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

C# on a low d... tips?

Post by Berti66 »

As I am still learning to play the lovely overton low D I got and think doing fine so far there is ONE thing that I have a hard time with.....
Doing a C# (all fingers off) now how to you avoid the whistle drops?
Must be something in how I hold the whistle but it would be particularly helpful if some magic low d player could shed some light on this :)

berti
OBrien
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by OBrien »

You can cover the bottom hole without affecting the pitch of the C sharp.
ninjaaron

Post by ninjaaron »

O'Brien wrote:You can cover the bottom hole without affecting the pitch of the C sharp.
That's what I do as well. or, since mine's a susato, sometimes I just stick on the thumb rest. :D

Some people are able to hold the instrument with the pinky of the right hand anchoring it. My pinkys are abnormally shorter than the rest of my fingers, so I cannot do this.
Everyone likes music
George
Tell us something.: I'm interested in Irish traditional music. Specifically flute & uilleann pipes at the moment. Did you know that the Sally Garden's starts like G2 DG B2 GB using the ABC language, that's certainly fascinating isn't it?

Post by George »

It is more of an issue with low whistles. For me my thumbs and lips (no teeth) are enough to hold the whistle in place. I dislike using my ring finger as an anchor as I don't want that to become a habit on notes where the pitches can be affected. I also dislike using my pinky because when it's down it limits the function of my ring finger. Trying to avoid bad habits before they start I guess. I imagine the angle of the whistle would affect how much the whistle would want to slip If you're holding it at a 90degree angle to the floor it's gonna wanna drop.

Sincerely,
-George
Berti66