Songs

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Jackie
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Songs

Post by Jackie »

Hi, I'm new this forum and the Penny Whistle so I have a few questions. What is meant by the terms reels, jigs and airs? I am just starting out so I like playing slow songs such as, The Sally Gardens, The Minstrel Boy, Green Sleeves and Mary Did You Know. What are some slow songs that would be good to know? Thanks, Jackie(Jack was taken)
emmline
antispam: No

Post by emmline »

Being a book- learning sort of person, I'd suggest getting a couple or more decent whistle books, such as Bill Ochs' tutor (available, among other places, from Amazon.) In addition to technical playing advice, such books often include blurbs describing types of traditional music.
Robin Williamson's The Penny Whistle Book is a good source of slow and fast tunes.
Other folks will direct you to web sources. Depends on how you like to learn.
bozemanhc

Post by bozemanhc »

The "quick and dirty" answer is that jigs and reels are dance music and are distinguished by their tempo as opposed to songs which have words and are usually sung. Double jigs are in 6/8 time and reels in 4/4 time. Airs are slower and may be sung also. Let me emphesize that there is much more to the explanation than I have given here. Others may expand on or correct what I have said.

Welcome to the board. Keep reading and you will learn much more over time.
Howard
Jackie

Songs

Post by Jackie »

Thanks for the reply. I've been playing for about a month now and really enjoy it. My family sure didn't like it at first though, especially when I tried to get the high notes! I was forced to practice when nobody was around or lock myself in the closet and play. Now I can play well enough where I am tolerated. How long have you guys been playing? I am going to try and get some of those books that were suggested. Thanks
Bloomfield