Is improvisation acceptable in polite company.

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
dale.rogers
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Is improvisation acceptable in polite company.

Post by dale.rogers »

Ok so I'm new to whistles. Ive been working on my nursery rhymes well all of them that I can remember and also some hymns. God knows how I remember hymns as its been a long time since I went to church.

Anyway, I am finding that my most favourite whistling is improvisation. I just love to play around and discover little patterns that sound pleasing to my ear and then mix them up and vary them and play around with them. adding in silly little trills and so on. Then a friend said to me hey what song is that one day. And I said it's nothing I was just making it up on the fly and she said that's silly I should be practicing real music. Is there any conventions for this sort of thing. I don't want to commit a faux pas.

Also another time I was playing around with my little improvised patterns and my friend said "hey thats the music from 'Lord of the Rings'" I was somewhat baffled and said "I don't think so I just made it up then." Of course now she doesn't believe me. But I did make it up on the spot. Or is my brain playing tricks. I know I have watched Lord of the rings so I must have heard the music. Though I don't distinctly remember the music. Not like I do the music from Star Wars for example. Is it possible that my subconcious stored the Lord of the rings music away for me or did I just create a parallel pattern?

Regards

Dale
satyricon234

Post by satyricon234 »

There was another post about a similar thing awhile back. I dont know what it was though. Your mind may have been playing tricks on you.
I remember I thought I had made up a great tune when I was around 14. Later I heard that same tune on the radio. It was Knights in White Satin by Moody Blues. I can only figure I had heard it and didn't know it.