Hi, New Member/Whistler Here

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
xcaliburgirl
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Hi, New Member/Whistler Here

Post by xcaliburgirl »

Hi folks,

I've been lurking for a few days, trying to say "Chiff and Fipple" three times fast. I guess "Fiff and Whiffle" or "Chip and Fiffle" are close enough.

I just bought my first whistle: a Susato Kildare Low D.
Now I know what you're thinking, but I'm not ignorant. Just stubborn. :D Or stupid, if you will. I have some experience with flute and recorder, maybe that won't do any good or maybe it will. I guess we'll find out when my whistle gets here. So I may end up posting my frustration on here for your encouragement and/or we-told-you-so-go-buy-a-high-d. :oops:

I think I must be in the very early stages of WhOA. I ordered my whistle on Saturday and it should be arriving from The Whistle Shop on Thursday. The anticipation is driving me crazy. This morning I was listening to my Máire Brennan Cd (which was what had renewed the fascination that started with, yes I admit it, that stupid Titanic movie :roll: ) and thinking about my whistle while I was getting ready for work. And next thing I know, I was wearing white socks and running shoes! The dress code is business casual, but not that casual. I just know it: I'm doomed! :o

Anyway, I just wanted to introduce myself.

Alicia
waitingame

Re: Hi, New Member/Whistler Here

Post by waitingame »

Welcome Alicia
xcaliburgirl wrote: I just bought my first whistle: a Susato Kildare Low D.
Alicia
If you learn to play even moderately well on the Low D (particularly the Susato, which IMHO is not really a beginner's instrument) you'll be surprised at how good you sound when you succomb and get a decent high D.

Good Luck
waitingame
BrassBlower
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by BrassBlower »

Welcome, Alicia! :D
https://www.facebook.com/4StringFantasy