how do I learn to play up to speed?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Berti66
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

how do I learn to play up to speed?

Post by Berti66 »

I am still very new to this (playing six months or so) and I was wondering...all those jigs and reels go so way fast.
How do I ever learn to play them at proper speed?
Does anyone have some tips to share?

berti
amar
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Post by amar »

hi berti, i'm a beginner myself, the only advice i can give is too practise very slowly, I know, it's not so fun, and I don't do it myself all the time either. but I guess it's the best way to learn.
:)
Ro3b

Post by Ro3b »

Speed will happen by itself as you get more comfortable with your instrument and the music you're playing. It's more important to work on rhythm, phrasing, and developing laserlike precision in your ornaments. If you've got all that, your playing will ROCK regardless of your tempo.
Talbert St. Claire
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

speed!

Post by Talbert St. Claire »

Berti,

Play them "SLOWLY!" Learn the rhythm of the tune first. Now, increase the speed.

Almost Every tune has a different speed (regardless of catagory:reels, jigs,slip-jigs,hornpipes,slow-reels). There are "NO" rules to finding how to enjoy playing them!! Personally, I prefere to play reels SLOWLY with a real groove! It's just my style of playing.

P.S. I'm sending out some "instructional tapes" to several board members today. If you are really interested. Simply drop me the postage to ship the cassette to you.$5.00 (through my paypal). I could put some great beginner stuff on the tape for you. Your choice. Good luck Berti!-Talbert