Lark in the Morning Irish flute! ;>

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Kysh
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing irish music for about three decades. Flute player primarily, also perforce whistle player. Learning harp. Been a member of C&F for literally ever.

Lark in the Morning Irish flute! ;>

Post by Kysh »

I know, this issue has been broached before.

In fact, I read all the previous discussions before I went on a jaunt down to SF.

I played everything LITM had, from their $225 'cocuswood' flute through several Casey Burns 'ergonomic' flutes (I didn't like the tiny holes one bit, though I'm certain the flute would grow on me).

The cork on the Lark in the Morning flute was adjusted right up against the tail-end of the embouchure hole, and consequently the upper octave was very sharp. But the intonation of both octaves was reasonable. The flute spake well, though it didn't have a lot of volume. The bore is rough and looks like it needs a good hone. Some of the finger holes have little chips here and there.

After adjusting the cork, the flute is roughly on-pitch anywhere within its two octaves.

The overall flute is a little bit sharp with the tuning slide all the way closed, but about a half inch out, the flute is in tune.

The tone is good, though it's a little reedy and slightly dry; I suspect the wood isn't the best conditioned.

There's not 'quite' as much break as I'd like.

But you know what? For $225, it's not a bad flute. It's certainly no $650 flute from a respectable manufacturer, but I'd choose it over a composite, for the price.

It even came with a hard case.