anyone playing a Bb?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
lyndamic

anyone playing a Bb?

Post by lyndamic »

Greetings, all! I wondered if anyone could tell me about Bb whistles. I have very small hands and the low D is a behemoth. Are Bb's much more manageable in regard to size? Do you find it a useful addition to your collection? Do you have any suggestions about other options? I love the sound of the lower whistles and don't wan't to miss out.
Upon re-reading this post, I see that I have fallen victim to WHOA. I am a rank amateur, having played the pennywhistle for precisely one month. I now own three penney whistles, have another on order, and already getting 'peckish' about low whistles.
God help me. I'll need him when my husband leaves. :lol:
Bloomfield
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by Bloomfield »

Bb's are great. They are manageable for all hand sizes. They sound a bit less offensive in the upper register.

Best thing: you can get a Generation Bb for $10 or so, and they are some of the best Bbs around.
/Bloomfield
meir
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by meir »

also love the dixon tunable b flat.

meir
jim stone

Post by jim stone »

I have a copeland Bb which is swell.
Also recommend As and Gs
chas
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by chas »

Try a Generation. I think the Bb is the best of their line. If you want a little more of a low-whistle sound, you might want a Burke composite. They have a nice, round, mellow sound.
Charlie
Whorfin Woods
"Our work puts heavy metal where it belongs -- as a music genre and not a pollutant in drinking water." -- Prof Ali Miserez.
eskin

Post by eskin »

I have a Sindt B-flat that is fantastic...
IDAwHOa
Tell us something.: I play whistles. I sell whistles. This seems just a BIT excessive to the cause. A sentence or two is WAY less than 100 characters.

Post by IDAwHOa »