Clarke penny whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
James Connelly

Clarke penny whistle

Post by James Connelly »

I know this has been asked before but I'm new to all this so give me a break. Which whistle for a beginner would yoy recommend? In which note? How much to spend? (Clarke penny whistle ?)
theotherleadingbrand
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by theotherleadingbrand »

Hi there,

My first whistle was a Generation, but then I got a Clare from thewhistleshop.com and have been using that for the past year. It doesn't have any eccentric personality quirks and seems well balanced and generally fun to play. I wasn't too thrilled about the Clarke I bought because it sounded to me like a toy and I didn't dig all that back pressure.

Cheers
I changed my mind. Then I found out the new one was smaller and weaker.
DCrom
antispam: No

Post by DCrom »

I like my Clarke orginal well enough, but I had to grow into it. It takes a bit different technique (not more air, but more focus) than most other inexpensive high whistles.

A good bet to start off is the Clarke Sweetone - around 5 dollars.

A good Generation (again, around $5) is a wonderful whistle, but they aren't all good out of the box (Though most can be made good to excellent with a bit of tweeking).

If you want to spend a bit more ($15 or so) a Jerry Freeman tweeked Sweetone is a good bet, or a Dixon non-tunable (both available from The Whistle Shop online).

But a good Generation or Sweetone is a pretty good whistle. Most Sweetones are OK as you get them, too. But they're cheap - why not get several inexpensive whistles - say, a Generation, a Sweetone, and maybe a Feadog? With shipping, you're out maybe $20 and have a variety of different whistles (with different voices) to try.
jim stone

Post by jim stone »

key of D
Northern Whistler

Post by Northern Whistler »