Linseed/flaxseed newbie question

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
sturob
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Linseed/flaxseed newbie question

Post by sturob »

Hi!

OK, so I'm not a TOTAL newbie.

I've never used linseed/flaxseed oil to oil my flutes, but I've thought about giving it a shot. I went to the grocery store today, and in the health food section, they had flaxseed oil. I remember reading somewhere that people liked to buy the health-food-store variety for use on flutes.

Now, the bottle was labeled, "NOT FOR COOKING/DO NOT HEAT!" This is cold-pressed unprocessed flaxseed oil. Is that the right thing? I know I'm not going to cook it, but I just wanted to make sure.

Oh, they had another one that had extra tocopherols (vitamin E) and rosemary oil in it . . . maybe that'd be even better!

Anyway, help wil be appreciated.

Stuart
Dana
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Dana »

I can't say for sure what you saw, but I do know that health food people use the oil as a heart-healthy supplement. It's used raw, either plain, or in salads and so forth. So the "do not heat" instructions make sense.

I have some of the cold pressed flaxseed oil, and I think it works wonderfully for oiling a flute. I like it better than almond oil or tung oil.

As far as the added vitamin E, that would probably retard spoilage. I can't say about the rosemary - but you may want to smell it before buying it. I like rosemay in food, but I'm not sure I'd want to inhale it. :wink:

Dana
andrew

Post by andrew »

Don't you find that linseed oil is very sticky before it dries,( or in light is polimerised by the UV) .I used to use it for oil painting , varnish making and bow polishing but have never fancied it for flutes .
sturob

Post by sturob »

andrew wrote:I used to use it for oil painting , varnish making and bow polishing but have never fancied it for flutes.