Recorder versus whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
bjs
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Recorder versus whistle

Post by bjs »

I started playing a whistle by accident and am now thoroughly addicted. But I see recorders produce the sound in the same way and have 2 extra holes ergo they must be more versatile. So why not punch two extra holes in a whistle and play it like a recorder? What is the difference? Why limit to 6 holes? Why? Why? Why?

Ignoramous :-?
lixnaw

Post by lixnaw »

is this what you're looking for? http://www.overton.de/texte/pricelist.html
skh

Re: Recorder versus whistle

Post by skh »

bjs wrote:Why? Why? Why?
Why have different instruments at all? Why not unroll the trumpet and make it a trombone? Why having grand pianos when the "normal" piano plays just as well?.

Sonja
Shut up and play.
Wombat
antispam: No

Re: Recorder versus whistle

Post by Wombat »

skh wrote:
bjs wrote:Why? Why? Why?
Why have different instruments at all? Why not unroll the trumpet and make it a trombone? Why having grand pianos when the "normal" piano plays just as well?.

Sonja
There is a more sympathetic way to interpret the question bjs is asking, Sonja. Could we have an instrument with the chromatic advantages of a recorder that sounded like a whistle (and still permitted half holing)?

Daniel Bingamon (Jubilee Whistles) is working on precisiely this question. Colin Goldie has produced near-chromatic Overtons but I think he doesn't regard them as very playable.

If these experiments prove successful we won't have fewer instruments, we'll have more instruments. The existence of wooden flutes with a few keys hasn't rendered either the simple diatonic flute or the concert flute redundant. The more the merrier in my opinion.