Guitar and Whistle Duets

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
picardy third
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Guitar and Whistle Duets

Post by picardy third »

Hi,
I'm a guitarist who also plays whistle. I'm more of a guitarist than a whistle player as I have played classical and celtic guitar for the better part of 15 years. Anyway, I've done a lot of duet work with various instruments and most recently flute. I now have a whistle player to play with. So far I've just been arranging the music myself, however, I was wondering if there are any good books of guitar/whistle arrangements. I was also wondering if there are any good whistle/guitar groups out there that I should check out. I'm also curious to know how many of the whistler's here play with a guitarist. I would like to know how you like the combination. I've always felt that flute and guitar is great, but whistle and guitar is amazing. Let me know your thoughts. Thanks!!

Picardy
"Have a cluckity-cluck-cluck day."
LimuHead
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm not new here. I have been registered here for many years. I am not a spammer, though being from Hawaii, I do enjoy eating spam. Now the site is requiring at least 100 characters in this box. It would have been nice to know that bit of information before I hit submit the first time!

Post by LimuHead »

If you're looking for guitar-and-whistle arrangements specifically, I don't think there's much out there. I'd recommend looking for whistle books that include accompaniment chords.

By the way, I play guitar too! (It's my main money-maker, though I prefer to play other instruments.....Oh well....)

Edited to add: I also love the sound of whistle and guitar! Unfortunately, I can only play one at a time! :D
My CD! Click here to listen!
Whistle, uke, guitar, English concertina & more!: http://www.nowhereradio.com/onemanband
pthouron

Post by pthouron »